Lause lebt!

What we want

The Lause – as we want to see it – is a place of solidarity. It is ecological, communal, open, self-determined, participative, independent, accountable, creative, formative, accessible, diverse, communicative, international, intergenerational, and active. We want to ensure space that is secure (financially, socially and in its infrastructure) and that has high quality of life (local, green, and social), and we want to support education and cultural life.

A Model Project for the City of the Future

Through affordable rents, the project creates space for social engagement. Diversity provides fertile ground and inspiration for unconventional ideas. Lause is a test field for new models for community life and ways of doing business (social entrepreneurship) and thus for social and economic innovations.

It’s not just tenants that would benefit from the project building blocks proposed below: people living and working in the neighbourhood and across Berlin would benefit too. With these building blocks, we want to pursue a multi-generational approach and, in particular, to involve children and senior citizens from the neighbourhood. Financially disadvantaged people too should be able to spend their time in a place with excellent “quality of stay”, without having to spend money (cafe, garden, community). As a modern village square, the Lause aspires to be a meeting place for the various groups from the neighbourhood.

Our Building Blocks

InterLause is an event series which aims to provide information and discussion about urban and local policy. The programme has been running in Lausitzer Straße 10 since Summer 2017. It’s accessible to all members of the community, helping people to share experiences and ideas and providing a place for various organisations and initiatives to meet.

InterLause Check out the InterLause event calendar

LauseLive! has been running since early 2018. It is a curated programme of concerts, readings, plays, and performances at Lause with well and lesser-known contemporary, classical, independent, and theatre artists. We have already made contact with artists in our Berlin network (Sophiensæle, Berlin Philharmonic) and begin exploring partnerships. In addition, we are planning a regular neighbourhood cinema. The programme will be run in a “low-threshold”, accessible way, allowing artists to try out new approaches. It should be particularly attractive to visitors who would not typically attend such events.

LauseLive! Check out the LauseLive event programme

We plan to create a community and event space, which would provide room for our ambitious event series and which people from the local community too would be able to use for their own ideas. This will also include a community canteen with affordable and healthy food. For this, we are already currently in talks with the refugee initiative Über den Tellerrand kochen. The rent for this space would be shared by all tenants, and the canteen would be economically self-supporting.

As part of a continuous workshop programme, the members of the association (including craftspeople, artisans, artists, authors, musicians, illustrators, programmers, graphic designers, filmmakers, people working in theatre, designers, producers, photographers) and their supporters share their knowledge on a voluntary basis, both internally and for the wider community. The effects are many: community empowerment, education, initiation of collaborations, sustainable economic stabilisation, and social and cultural participation. Over 50 members from the initiative have so far agreed to run regular workshops. Because: lower rents make volunteerism possible.

We would like to introduce horizontal and vertical greening on in the courtyard on the southern side, installing (raised) horticultural beds to ensure high quality of stay for tenants and neighbours, brightening the dense building structure and closed-off areas. This would be set up, tended to and maintained by the tenant collective, with extensive involvement of the neighbourhood (workshops/continuing AGs) We would work together with successful urban gardening initiatives (e.g. Prinzessinnengärten) and specialist architects, with whom we have already agreed partnerships. Another possibility is a throughway to a neighbouring school/school garden, opening up space for cross-generational projects alongside the senior citizens’ home located opposite.

To take account of the heterogeneous financial abilities of the various tenants, the rents will be tiered on a solidarity basis. Shared space and volunteer work are thus enabled by tenants who are in financially stronger positions.

Generic Example of Solidarity Rents
Level Use Price m2 Total
1,2 Offices, projects, associations (full-time structure) 7,80 € 2.000 156 €
1,0 Trades & crafts 6,50 € 900 5.850 €
0,5 Non-profit (voluntary structure) 3,35 € 500 1.625 €
Communal areas  € 2.000  €
1,5 non-standard use 9,75 € 125 1.219 €
 € 3.775 24.294 €
1,0 Rent currently being paid 6,50 € 3.774 24.531 €

Erläuterungen

  • Each rental unit can voluntarily opt for a higher tier
  • Only the office space is calculated, not the designated storage areas or the residential units
  • The current average rent is approximately €6.50.
nach ↑ oben

Lause lebt!

Was wir wollen

Die Lause – so wie wir sie uns vorstellen – ist solidarisch, ökologisch, gemeinschaftlich, offen, selbstbestimmt, partizipativ, (eigen-) verantwortlich, kreativ, gestaltend, erschwinglich-zugänglich, divers, vermittelnd, international, intergenerationell, aktiv. Wir wollen einen sicheren Raum (monetär, infrastrukturell, sozial) mit hoher Lebensqualität (nah, grün, sozial) schaffen und Bildung und Kultur fördern.

Modellprojekt für die Stadt der Zukunft

Durch bezahlbare Mieten ermöglicht das Projekt Freiheitsgrade für gesellschaftliches Engagement. Die Vielfalt bietet den Nährboden und die Inspiration für unkonventionelle Ideen. Die Lause ist Testfeld für neue Gemeinschaftslebensmodelle und Unternehmensansätze (social Entrepreneurship) und damit für gesellschaftliche, soziale und wirtschaftliche Innovationen.

Von den im folgenden vorgeschlagenen Projektbausteinen profitieren neben den Mieter*innen Menschen, die im Kiez und ganz Berlin leben und arbeiten. Dabei wollen wir einen Mehrgenerationenansatz verfolgen und insbesondere Kinder und Senioren aus der Nachbarschaft einbeziehen. Auch finanziell schlechter gestellte Menschen sollen ihre Zeit an einem Ort mit hoher Aufenthaltsqualität verbringen können, ohne konsumieren zu müssen (Café, Garten, Gemeinschaft). Die Lause möchte als moderner Dorfplatz einen Begegnungsort für die verschiedenen Gruppen aus dem Kiez sein.

Die Projektbausteine

InterLause ist eine fortlaufende Veranstaltungsreihe, deren Ziel es ist, über stadtpolititsche Themen zu informieren und diese zu diskutieren. Das Programm findet seit Sommer 2017 in den Räumlichkeiten der Lausitzer Straße 10 statt, ist allen Bewohner*innen des Kiezes zugänglich und dient zudem dem Austausch und der Vernetzung verschiedener Initiativen.

InterLause Zum Programm von InterLause

Die Reihe LauseLive! bietet seit dem Frühjahr 2018 ein kuratiertes Programm von Konzerten, Lesungen, Theaterstücken, Performances etc. in der Lause mit bekannten und weniger bekannten Künstler*innen aus Pop und Klassik, freier Kunst und Theater. Entsprechende Kontakte aus unserem Netzwerk (Sophiensæle, Berliner Philharmoniker, etc.) wurden dafür bereits aktiviert und erste Partnerschaften sondiert. Darüber hinaus planen wir ein regelmäßiges Kiezkino. Das Angebot wird niedrigschwellig gestaltet, den Künstler*innen neue Ansätze ermöglichen und soll besonders auch Besucher ansprechen, die solche Veranstaltungen normalerweise nicht besuchen.

LauseLive! Zum Veranstaltungsprogramm von LauseLive

Wir möchten einen Gemeinschafts- und Veranstaltungsraum übernehmen, der den Raum für unsere ambitionierte Veranstaltungsreihen bietet und den auch Leute aus dem Kiez für ihre Ideen nutzen können. Hier soll zudem eine Kiezkantine mit günstigem und gesundem Essen realisiert werden. Für eine Umsetzung sind wir aktuell in Gesprächen mit der Geflüchteteninitiative Über den Tellerrand kochen. Die Miete für den Raum wird von allen Mieter*innen geteilt, die Kantine wird wirtschaftlich selbsttragend aufgebaut.

Im Rahmen eines kontinuierlichen Workshop-Programms machen die Mitglieder des Vereins (u.a. Handwerker, Künstler, Autoren, Musiker, Illustratoren, Programmierer, Gestalter, Filmemacher, Theatermacher, Produzenten, Fotografen) und seine Unterstützer ihr Wissen auf Spendenbasis sowohl hausintern als auch für den Kiez verfügbar. Die Effekte sind vielfältig: Kiezempowerment, Bildung, Initiierung von Kollaborationen, nachhaltige wirtschaftliche Stabilisierung, soziale und kulturelle Teilhabe. Über 50 Mitglieder aus der Initiative haben sich bislang bereiterklärt, regelmäßig Workshops zu realisieren. Denn: geringere Mieten ermöglichen ehrenamtliches Engagement.

Einen Teil des Hofes auf der Südseite möchten wir horizontal und vertikal begrünen und mit (Hoch-) Beeten versehen, um für die Mieter*innen und die Nachbarschaft eine höhere Aufenthaltsqualität zu erzeugen und die stark verdichtete Gebäudestruktur und versiegelten Flächen aufzulockern. Die Anlegung, Pflege und Bespielung erfolgt seitens des Mieter*innen­kollektivs unter Einbeziehung der Nachbarschaft (Workshops/kontinuierliche AGs). Dazu werden wir mit erfolgreichen Urban Gardening-Initiativen (z.B. mit Prinzessinnengärten) sowie spezialisierten Architekten zusammenarbeiten, mit denen bereits entsprechende Partnerschaften geschlossen wurden. Denkbar ist auch eine Durchwegung zur benachbarten Schule/Schulgarten, um sich gemeinsam mit dem gegenüberliegenden Seniorenheim auch räumlich für Mehrgenerationenprojekte zu öffnen.

Um der heterogenen Finanzkraft der verschiedenen Mieter*innen Rechnung zu tragen, werden die Mieten solidarisch gestaffelt. Gemeinschaftsflächen und ehrenamtliche Arbeit werden so von zahlungskräftigeren Mieter*innen mitgetragen.

Exemplarische Beispielrechnung solidarischer Mieten
Faktor Nutzungstyp Preis qm Summe
1,2 Büro, Projekte, Vereine (hauptamtliche Struktur) 7,80 € 2.000 156 €
1,0 Handwerk 6,50 € 900 5.850 €
0,5 gemeinnützig (ehrenamtliche Struktur) 3,35 € 500 1.625 €
Gemeinschaftsfläche  € 2.000  €
1,5 nicht konforme Nutzung 9,75 € 125 1.219 €
 € 3.775 24.294 €
1,0 Vergleich Ist 6,50 € 3.774 24.531 €

Erläuterungen

  • Jede Mieteinheit kann sich freiwillig hochstufen
  • Es sind nur die Büroflächen berechnet, nicht die als solche ausgewiesenen Lagerflächen und keine Wohnfläche
  • 6,50 € entspricht ungefähr der aktuellen Durchschnittsmiete
nach ↑ oben