Lause bleibt!

Background

The work complex at Lausitzer Straße 10 in Kreuzberg is a true prototype of the Berliner Mischung – the Berlin Mix. With authentic mixed use – covering living and work space – it is home to the kind of price-sensitive craft and trade businesses, precariously employed freelancers, artists, creatives, and small-scale companies and political initiatives that have long since been displaced from other parts of Kreuzberg by residential use and businesses able to pay higher rents.

In our struggle against displacement and for solidarity and sustainability in urban development, we are not alone. We see ourselves as part of an active neigbourhood which also includes projects like these:

Bizim KiezBündnis Zwangsräumungen verhindernKotti&Co.Haus der StatistikStadt von untenGloReiche NachbarschaftGoogle ist kein guter NachbarFuck off Google

The Berlin Mix in Danger

Displacement is also endangering the tenants of the Lause, whose continued existence there is threatened by a planned conversion of the work units into luxury apartments, luxury renovation, or sale for maximum profit. The livelihoods of many of the 150 people at the Lause are in real danger. In addition, there is the acute danger that with the loss of Lause, the neighbourhood would lose a key building block and provider of a diverse, often non-commercial possibilities for a large user base. This includes the vital work of Lause-based anti-fascist initiatives, such as NSU Watch.

Protecting Organic Social Structures

To deal constructively with the current situation, the tenants of Lausitzer Straße 10/11 have become organised established the Lause Lebt association to ensure that their voices are heard. We want to contribute our diverse skills, our large network (both local and international) and our commitment so that we can maintain the character of these buildings and develop them as a collective project. We have thus created a overarching vision, developed building blocks for our projects, sought out other organisations that share our aims, and thought hard about what we can achieve. As a place of solidarity, we want to open up Lause even further for the wider community: by redesigning and actively using the courtyards (with urban gardening and other projects) and the use of common spaces with an ambitious socio-cultural event programme (for the household collective and for the community), educational opportunities, community networking formats and a community canteen.

The Lause as a Place for Solidarity

To deal constructively with the current situation, the tenants of Lausitzer Straße 10/11 have become organised established the Lause Lebt association to ensure that their voices are heard. We want to contribute our diverse skills, our large network (both local and international) and our commitment so that we can maintain the character of these buildings and develop them as a collective project. We have thus created a overarching vision, developed building blocks for our projects, sought out other organisations that share our aims, and thought hard about what we can achieve. As a place of solidarity, we want to open up Lause even further for the wider community: by redesigning and actively using the courtyards (with urban gardening and other projects) and the use of common spaces with an ambitious socio-cultural event programme (for the household collective and for the community), educational opportunities, community networking formats and a community canteen.

To turn our ideas into reality, we are prepared to invest work and expertise – to assume and shoulder responsibility. There are a few preconditions to us being able to achieve all this:

1. Careful renovation

2. No changes to the rents currently being paid

3. The right to help decide in the selection of future tenants

4. Communal areas in the courtyards and buildings

In our view, these are only possible with political and support and the support of the property owner. As a model project for the city of the future, Lause Lebt! offers amazing benefits for the for the district and for the local community.

Buyback of the Buildings by the City

The public sector (in the form of Wohnungsbaugesellschaft Berlin-Mitte, a housing association) buys the property.

1a) The WBM carries out careful renovation of the buildings. A long-term general rental contract would be signed by the Lause Lebt! association. The association would thus assume various responsibilities (such as default risk for vacant units) but in return would get full scope to make a reality of its concept plan (enabling solidarity rents, carrying out the bulding-block projects)

1 b) Lause lives! founds a cooperative and takes over the buildings via Erbpacht (leasehold). Over the coming decades, the initiative is then able to manage, shape, and organise the property. The renovation would carried out with the support of subsidies (e.g. from special urban planning regulations like Städtebaulicher Denkmalschutz [Protection of Urban Architectural Heritage]/urban redevelopment/GRW investment), equity in the form of cooperative shares and a loan (e.g. GLS Bank)

https://lause10.de/wp-content/uploads/2018/08/lause_kiezstattkies-2.jpg

A Framework Contract for All Work Tenants

The buildings remain in the ownership of Jørn Tækker. The association concludes a framework or general rental agreement with the owner. The agreement regulates rent levels, duration, occupancy and common areas. The careful renovations which are needed would be implemented by Tækker, if necessary with support from public sector (e.g. analogous to the “self-help” housing policy of the 1990s).

The contract will only apply to the work units, and to at least all currently occupied work units, which will become part of the joint rental contract. For the contract, the contractual partner of the property owner would be either the association or a cooperative, either of whom would arrange sublet contracts with the current tenants and look after filling any units which became free.

nach ↑ oben

Lause bleibt!

Hintergrund

Der Gewerbehof in der Lausitzer Straße 10 in Kreuzberg ist der Prototyp der Berliner Mischung. In einer authentischen Nutzungsmischung von Wohnen und Arbeiten finden sich hier noch preissensible Handwerksbetriebe, prekär beschäftigte Freiberufler*innen, Künstler*innen und Kreative, kleinproduzierende Unternehmen und politische Initiativen, die an vielen anderen Standorten im Bezirk längst durch Wohnnutzungen oder mietstärkere Gewerbe verdrängt wurden.

In unserem Kampf gegen Verdrängung und für eine nachhaltige und solidarische Stadtentwicklung sind wir nicht alleine. Wir sehen uns als Teil einer aktiven Nachbarschaft, zu denen auch andere Projekte gehören. Z.B.:

Bizim KiezBündnis Zwangsräumungen verhindernKotti&Co.Haus der StatistikStadt von untenGloReiche NachbarschaftGoogle ist kein guter NachbarFuck off Google

Berliner Mischung in Gefahr

Die Gefahr der Verdrängung drohte auch den Mieter*innen der Lause, deren Bestand durch eine geplante Umwandlung der Gewerbeflächen in Luxuswohnungen bzw. durch Luxussanierung oder Verkauf zum maximalen Profit bedroht war. Viele, der ca. 150 in der Lause ansässigen Akteur*innen waren und sind damit in ihrer Existenz bedroht. Zusätzlich ist auch die Lause als wichtiger Nachbarschaftsbaustein mit seinen vielfältigen, häufig unkommerziellen Angeboten für einen großen Nutzer*innenkreis in Gefahr. Dazu gehört u. a. die Arbeit der antifaschistischen Initiativen im Haus (wie z.B. NSU Watch).

Gewachsene Strukturen erhalten

Laut des aktuellen Gewerbeflächensicherungskonzepts des Bezirks für Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg gilt es, die für die typische Berliner Mischung charakteristischen Gewerbehöfe im Bezirk zu sichern. Denn genau diese funktionale und soziale Mischung ist Kern einer nachhaltigen und integrierten Stadtentwicklung und Wirtschaftsförderung und macht Kreuzberg so lebenswert und attraktiv. Von oben planen lässt sich diese Mischung nicht – Nachbarschaftsbeziehungen, Kollaborationen und lokale Wertschöpfungsketten können nur ›bottom up‹ und über die Zeit wachsen. Durch Gentrifizierung werden funktionierende Kiezstrukturen zerstört, die sich nicht wiederaufbauen lassen.

Die Lause als solidarischer Ort

Um der aktuellen Situation konstruktiv zu begegnen, haben sich die Mieter*innen der Lausitzer Straße 10/11 organisiert und den Verein Lause lebt als Interessensvertretung gegründet. Wir möchten unsere vielfältigen Kompetenzen, unser großes lokales wie internationales Netzwerk und unser Engagement einbringen, um den Charakter des Hauses beizubehalten und als gemeinsames Projekt weiterzuentwickeln. Dazu haben wir eine übergeordnete Vision und erste Bausteine konkretisiert, Partner*innen gesucht und Machbarkeiten geprüft. Wir möchten die Lause als solidarischen Ort sichtbarer als bisher für den Kiez öffnen – durch eine Gestaltung und Nutzbarmachung der Höfe (u.a. mit Urban Gardening) und der Bespielung eines Gemeinschaftsraums (für die Hausgemeinschaft und den Kiez) mit einem ambitionierten ­sozio-kulturellen Veranstaltungsprogramm, Bildungsangeboten, Vernetzungs­formaten und einer Kiezkantine.

Für die Umsetzung unserer Ideen sind wir bereit, Arbeit und Know How zu investieren und damit Verantwortung zu übernehmen. Die dafür notwendigen Rahmenbedingungen –

1. Behutsame Sanierung

2. Gleichbleibende Mieten

3. Mitbestimmung bei der Mieter*innenaus­wahl

4. Gemeinschaftsflächen Hof / Gebäude

– lassen sich u.E. nur mit politischer und eigentümerseitiger Unterstützung realisieren. Lause lebt! bietet als Modellprojekt für die Stadt der Zukunft dem Bezirk und der Gesellschaft einen großen Mehrwert.

Rückkauf der Häuser durch die Stadt

Die öffentliche Hand in Form der Wohnungsbaugesellschaft Berlin-Mitte (WBM) kauft die Liegenschaft.

1 a) Die WBM führt eine behutsame Sanierung der Gebäude durch. Mit dem Verein Lause lebt! wird ein langfristiger Generalmietvertrag geschlossen – der Verein übernimmt damit z.B. Ausfallrisiko für Leerstände, erhält im Gegenzug jedoch vollen Gestaltungsspielraum zur Umsetzung des Konzepts (Ermöglichung solidarischer Mieten, Implementierung der Bausteine).

1 b) Lause lebt! Gründet sich als Genossenschaft und übernimmt die Gebäude in Erbpacht. Damit kann die Initiative für die nächsten Jahrzehnte die Liegenschaft bewirtschaften und gestalten. Die Sanierung erfolgt mit Unterstützung von Fördermitteln (z.B. im Rahmen des besonderen Städtebaurechts wie Städtebaulicher Denkmalschutz / Stadtumbau / GRW investiv), Eigenkapital in Form von Genossenschaftsanteilen und eines Kredits (z.B. GLS)

https://lause10.de/wp-content/uploads/2018/08/lause_kiezstattkies-2.jpg

Rahmenmietvertrag für alle Gewerbemieter*innen

Das Haus verbleibt in Eigentümerschaft von Jørn Tækker. Der Verein schließt mit dem Eigentümer einen Rahmen- oder Generalmietvertrag ab, der Miethöhen, -dauer, Belegung und Gemeinschaftsflächen regelt. Die notwendige behutsame Sanierung wird durch Tækker umgesetzt und ggf. durch die öffentliche Hand gefördert (z.B. analog zur wohnungspolitischen Selbsthilfe der 1990er Jahre).

Der Vertrag wird sich nur auf Gewerbeflächen beziehen und davon mindestens auf alle aktuell vermieteten Gewerbeflächen, die in den Gesamtmietvertrag übergehen wollen. Vertragspartner mit dem Eigentümer soll der Verein oder eine Genossenschaft sein, welche/r die bestehenden Verträge der aktuellen Mieter*innen über Untermietverträge aufnimmt und die weitere Belegung der freiwerdenden Flächen übernimmt.

nach ↑ oben