Lause Live! is a curated program of concerts, readings, plays and performances at the Lause. It features established, independent and lesser-known contemporary and classical, musicians, visual artists and theatre performers. Participants include Lause-based artists and guest performers from Berlin and around the world. The events are based on the core theme of space/no space.

Background

The space for art in Berlin and cities worldwide is in acute danger. This is resulting in impoverishment of the artistic landscape, stalled social development, and creatives being displaced from cities. The studios and creative spaces of around 150 independent freelance workers in the Lause are likewise in danger. Given recent developments in Berlin's city centre, these developments put in jeopardy the very existence as artists of many tenants and artists in this city.

As well as actively and creatively addressing this lack of space for art and the threat posed by rent increases or even the planned sale of the building, LauseLive also aims to highlight the increasingly tense situation across Berlin.

We work with what we’ve got!

Due to the lack of free space at the Lause for our programme, we have been making non-spaces into art spaces: Concerts in the staircases, theatre in the corridors and readings at authors’ desks – places of artistic and creative work become event spaces. The artists are invited to address in their own singular ways the situation regarding lack of urban space and the resulting reconversion of other spaces. They are invited to develop new formats or perspectives in an unfamiliar context – to try out the untried in front of an audience.

Culture for All, Not an Elite Art Event!

The programme will be run accessibly. This means that it will allow artists to try out new approaches and that it will be geared especially to visitors who wouldn’t normally attend these kind of events. That’s why we’re planning a serious of 30 to 40 minute events what can be put on without great expense or overheads, paid for just from donations.

LauseLive! will bring different people together with us, our work and the buildings, creating a space for conversation. We want to show how important Lause is for the neighbourhood and the city and present the artistic diversity that’s at home here.

The displacement of artists and non-commercial cultural initiatives and the cultural policy of the city of Berlin are the subjects of intense debates. We’re hoping for a strong media presence, and with LauseLive!, we’re looking forward to making our contribution to these discussions.

Our goal is to increase people’s awareness that it’s worth fighting to preserve places like the Lause; that it’s worth showing how powerful we are when we act together and work creatively with what’s available to us.


Danke an Marieke Wikesjo , Johannes Held and Anni Laukkanen


Danke an Barbara Morgenstern , Christian Biegai and Paul Black

nach ↑ oben

Lause Live! ist ein kuratiertes Programm von Konzerten, Lesungen, Theaterstücken und Performances in der Lause. LauseLive! präsentiert bekannte und weniger bekannte Künstler aus Pop und Klassik, freier und bildender Kunst sowie Theater. Teilnehmende setzen sich zusammen aus Künstler*Innen, die in der Lause arbeiten, sowie Berliner und internationalen Künstler*Innen. Zentrales Thema der Reihe ist ›Space / No space‹.

Background

Der Raum für Kunst in Berlin und in Großstädten weltweit ist akut bedroht. Die Konsequenz ist eine Verarmung der Kunstlandschaft, fehlende gesellschaftliche Weiterentwicklung sowie die Verdrängung von Kreativschaffenden aus den Städten. Auch die Werk- und Kreativräume von ca. 150 Freischaffenden in der Lause sind gefährdet. Und weil es im Zentrum Berlins schon lange keine Ausweichmöglichkeiten mehr gibt, gefährdet diese Entwicklung die Existenz vieler Mieter*innen als Künstler*innen in dieser Stadt.

Diesem Mangel an Raum für Kunst und der Bedrohung durch Mieterhöhungen oder sogar Verkauf des Gebäudes wollen wir mit dem Programm LauseLive aktiv und kreativ begegnen.

We work with what we’ve got!

Da in der Lause Freiräume fehlen, in denen unser Programm stattfinden kann, machen wir aus Un-Orten Kunstorte: Konzerte und Theater auf dem Flur oder eine Lesung am Schreibtisch der Schriftstellerin – Orte, an denen künstlerisch und kreativ gearbeitet wird, werden zu Veranstaltungsorten. Die jeweiligen Künstler sind eingeladen sich auf ihre Weise mit der Situation der Umnutzung und des Raummangels auseinanderzusetzen. Sie sind eingeladen, in einem ungewohnten Kontext neue Formate oder Blickwinkel zu entwickeln, Unerprobtes vor Publikum auszuprobieren.

Kein elitäres Kunstevent, sondern Kultur für alle!

Das Angebot wird niedrigschwellig gestaltet. Es soll Künstler*innen ermöglichen neue Ansätze zu erproben und möchte besonders Besucher*innen ansprechen, die solche Veranstaltungen normalerweise nicht besuchen. Daher planen wir eine Reihe 30- bis 40-minütiger Veranstaltungen, die mit wenig Aufwand umsetzbar sind und lediglich über Spenden finanziert werden.

LauseLive! will unterschiedliche Menschen mit uns, unserer Arbeit und dem Ort zusammen und miteinander in Austausch zu bringen. Wir möchten die Bedeutung der Lause für den Kiez und die Stadt deutlich machen und die künstlerische Vielfalt, die sie beheimatet, präsentieren.

Die Verdrängung von Künstler*innen und kulturellen, nicht kommerziellen Initiativen und die Kulturpolitik der Stadt Berlin werden aktuell heiß diskutiert. Wir hoffen auf breite Medienpräsenz – und freuen uns, mit LauseLive! einen Beitrag zu dieser Diskussion beitragen zu können.

Unser Ziel ist es, das Bewusstsein dafür zu stärken, dass es sich lohnt, für Orte wie die Lause zu kämpfen und zu zeigen, wie stark wir sind, wenn wir uns zusammentun und kreativ mit unseren Möglichkeiten arbeiten.


Danke an Marieke Wikesjo , Johannes Held and Anni Laukkanen


Danke an Barbara Morgenstern , Christian Biegai and Paul Black

nach ↑ oben